Shu Uemura – Silk Cushion Eye Shadow (Morganite Pink, Amber Brown)

Happy Monday everyone! 🙂
Today, I have a quick review on high end eye shadows from Shu Uemura.

Shu Uemura released silk cushion eye shadows for Spring last year. I got Morganite Pink and Amber Brown. Ever since I got these, I used them whenever I wanted a soft, subtle, and natural look.
Let’s talk about what are the things that I like/dislike about these! 🙂

IMG_5396

Left – Morganite Pink;        Right – Amber Brown

If you twist open, you’ll see these cushiony shadows. It has combined features of both powder and cream shadows. Therefore, it has a very silky and marshmallow-like texture, but when you apply it, it has nice powdery finish.

FullSizeRender-5

Left – Morganite Pink;              Right – Amber Brown

Just by looking at the colors, you’ll be able to tell that these are released for Spring! Both shades are pretty sheer and has gorgeous silvery shimmers. Silvery shimmers really brightens up eye area, so these shadows work great as a base as well.

Colors are pretty sheer, but with about 2-3 swatches, you’ll get the full color. Because of this, it’s very easy to create nice gradation. Using an eyeshadow primer enhances the pigments as well.
Morganite Pink looks like a toned-down pink, but the actual color is closer to vibrant moby pink with a hint of orchid.

FullSizeRender-4

Left – Morganite Pink  (Applied once -> Applied 3 X);                            Right – Amber Brown  (Applied once -> Applied 3X)

These are my go-to products whenever I want a soft and subtle look. It’s very easy to create ‘no makeup’ makeup look while still brightens up your eye areas. Lasting was pretty impressive. Even without using an eyeshadow primer, it lasted almost all day long.

I don’t think you’ll enjoy these products as much as I do if you:
1) prefer a strong & vivid eye makeup look (or want to create smokey eye);
2) prefer warmer shades (Both of these have cool undertone with silvery shimmers. Therefore, if you have a warmer skin tone, and don’t usually use shades with cool tone, you might not like these);
3) don’t like texture of cream shadows (these have somewhat similar texture to cream shadows)

What’s your favorite eye shadows for Spring?

Stay beYOUtiful ♥

5 thoughts on “Shu Uemura – Silk Cushion Eye Shadow (Morganite Pink, Amber Brown)

  1. stashmatters says:

    These remind me so much of the MAC Electric Cool Eye Shadows! Too bad they creased on me terribly – I ended up giving them away to a friend. Their texture ARE like marshmallow! I wished it worked for me – they were fun and easy to use. The colours you got are lovely.

  2. lotusgurl says:

    Great, detailed post 🙂 My favorite spring eyeshadow is Nyx’s jumbo eye pencil in Strawberry Milk; it’s pearly and shimmery and I even use it on my lips.

Leave a Reply

