Special Skin Care Routine for Rough Skin After Parties

Did everyone have great holidays and having a great first week of New Year so far? Now, it’s time to give a little special care for the stressed, rough skin you may have gotten from staying up late at all those holiday parties!

women(Image from Google)

I used to go to parties and enjoy fun times out, but as time passed, I could tell that my skin didn’t recover as quickly and as well as it normally did. Whenever my skin becomes rough, stressed, and dried from crazy nights like those, I do a more intensive skin care routine to recover faster. Don’t worry, this may require some more steps than your usual skin care routine, but it won’t be too crazy or hard to do. You all know how lazy I am 😉 If I can do it, you can do it too 😉

I usually do this routine on the weekends, but you can do it whenever you have time. For me, I usually do these steps on either Saturday or Sunday morning after a crazy night or week.

1. Hydrate yourself

Your skin gets a lot drier than usual the days after a night/week of late night parties or all-nighters. And nothing’s better at hydrating your skin than drinking water! Don’t forget to drink enough water =) Also, try to not drink coffee. I know, it sounds hard. I’m a huge caffeine addict, so it’s hard for me as well. But caffeine really makes your skin to get drier. Just for one day, try to not drink any coffee or sugary soft drinks.
Product(s) I use: Lemon water 

2. Steam towel to open up all your pores

Before cleansing your face, you should open up your pores first to cleanse better. I usually soak a soft towel in warm-hot water. Squeeze the water out (so it won’t drip all over), and put it on your face for about 3 min-ish. (If the towel is still too hot, wait a little bit so the towel cools down some before placing it on your face! You don’t want to burn your face, right 😉 ? )

3. Gently exfoliate

Wet your face with warm water, then use a facial scrub/exfoliator to gently exfoliate. The important thing is using the “right” product for your skin type. If you have sensitive/dry skin, try to use a gel or cream type product with natural ingredients. If you have blemishes, there are products that are for blemish-prone skins. Another key thing is being gentle. Even if the product you are using is all natural and gentle, it can still damage and dry out your skin if you are too harsh.
Product(s) I use: St. Ives – Blemish Control Apricot Scrub

4. Cleanse & massage thoroughly with a hydrating facial cleanser

After washing off your facial scrub/exfoliator, gently cleanse your face thoroughly with your favorite facial cleanser. Again, you want to be gentle because your skin is a lot softer than usual from exfoliation. When you do this step, try to massage your face with circular motion. Try to use a more gentle cleanser as well.
For myself, since I have sensitive, dry skin, I usually use a gel or cream type cleanser. But whenever I exfoliate my skin, I use the cleanser that is more hydrating. Wash off everything with mid-temp water first, then rinse your face with cold water again to close the pores.
In this step, if you have blemishes or acne, try to replace cold water with cold green tea. Many studies shown that green tea helps reduce acne. It also plays anti-bacterial role.
Product(s) I use: Burt’s Bees – Intense Hydrating Cream Cleanser and green tea

5. Seal in the moisture with serum and moisturize

You don’t want to lose all that moisture, right? I usually don’t dab my face with a towel. Instead, I let it air dry. When it’s about 80% dry (you’ll still see very small water droplets on your skin), I apply a thin layer of serum. Then, I apply a hydrating moisturizer.
Product(s) I use: Innisfree – Green Tea Seed Serum
Clinique – Moisture Surge Extended Thirst Relief

6. Mask pack to give extra nutrients

Since this is a special skin care routine, I like to give myself a little more nutrients and more hydration than usual. I usually use sheet masks (which are very convenient to use) to do this. You can use any type of facial mask that you want, but the reason why I use sheet masks is that I’ve already applied serum and moisturizer. I only want to give an extra boost of moisture and nutrients, so I don’t want to use other types of facial mask where I have to wash off everything. After taking off the sheet mask, gently pat the remaining essence from the mask to help your skin absorb it.

7. (Optional) Apply lotion or cream (depends on your skin type)

During summer, I’m fine with just the first 6 steps. But since I have extremely dry skin, my skin sometimes still feels a little tight even after the first 6 steps. Depending on my skin condition, I apply either a lotion/cream or an oil on top.
Product(s) I use: Clinique – Dramatically Different Moisturizing Lotion
Josie Maran – 100% Pure Argan Oil Light

 

The steps and products that I listed up there are what works for my skin.

One thing that I want to emphasize is to make sure that you use the products that work for you and do the steps that work for you. Everyone has a different skin type, so the products/steps that work on me may not work well on you.

What’s your secret skin care tip for stressed skin?

 

Stay beYOUtiful ♥

19 responses to “Special Skin Care Routine for Rough Skin After Parties

  1. I’m just curious as to why you exfoliate before cleansing?
    Cleansing is great to do before exfoliating, as it removes left over makeup and oils, so when you’re exfoliating and opening up your pores, you don’t risk trapping makeup remnants and oils inside.

    Also, St. Ives apricot scrub should be avoided, ESPECIALLY if you have dry or sensitive skin. This scrub uses crushed apricot kernel shells that are sharp and damaging to the skin. I used it myself before finding this out, and won’t go near it anymore.

    Keep up the great skin routine!

    • Hey, thanks for pointing out those things!
      First, I stated in the second paragraph that I usually do those steps either on Saturday or Sunday mornings. So there’s an underlying assumption that I don’t have any makeup on my face. Maybe that part didn’t stand out well. I move those parts to the next paragraph, so people won’t get confused anymore ><
      Secondly, I’ve done researches on exfoliating, and there were mixed answers. So I tried both ways, and exfoliating first worked the best for my skin.
      FYI, http://www.allure.com/beauty-trends/blogs/daily-beauty-reporter/2012/01/why-you-should-exfoliate-befor.html

      I did stated in the very last paragraph that The steps and products that I listed up there are what works for my skin. I also stated that people should use the steps and products that works the best for them, so people won't think that they all should follow what I do.
      thanks again for sharing your opinion!

      • My mistake!
        I did see your statement about these steps and products being simply what you use. I just wanted to let you know about the negative effects of st. ives, as the crushed kernels can cause microscarring. I would have never used the product, had I known, so I only felt it to be fair to let you know!

    • Awwww. Yea that’s why I do those steps on Saturday/Sunday mornings as soon as I wake up. If you want to do it on weekdays, try it at night. And replace the regular facial mask with overnight masks. That will save you much time!

  2. Great! I sometimes exfoliate before cleansing as I feel that the creamy scrubs leave behind a residual creamy layer which I’m not very fond of 🙂 the cleansing helps get rid of that

  3. I love St. Ives Fresh Skin Scrub but I haven’t tried their exfoliating scrub. Must try!! 😀 I like your routine, especially the hot-warm towel step. I need to include this in my skincare routine. You have inspired me to give my skin a prop prep session this weekend, ha. I usually just cleanse, scrub, face mask and wash my face with cold water.

  4. Hey I nominated you for the 20 Things Tag! You can check out the post here:
    For some reason, I was really in the mood to do a tag post, so had a quick google and found this one on Blacksburg Belle’s blog. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t dislike tag posts, but it seems like they all come flooding in at once and I forget to do them and then […]

    The 20 Things Tag
    20ThingsBlogTag, tag, bbloggers
    http://rachwat.wordpress.com/2015/01/08/the-20-things-tag/

Leave a Reply

