[Review] NEW!! Maybelline – Brow Drama (Sculpting Brow Mascara)

Have you heard that Maybelline released their very first brow mascara?? I found out about it on Instagram a couple months ago, and since then, I really wanted to try it!!! None of the drug stores around my place carried it, so I couldn’t find it until I went to Target recently! I used it quite often for the past 3-4 weeks for a better review, and here’s what I like and don’t like about the product:

IMG_4726

Let’s talk about the color first. I got the shade #260 deep brown.I thought it would be a shade lighter than my natural brow color, but it actually matched perfectly. Therefore, for me, it enhanced my natural brow color. The brush was pretty sturdy, and I liked how it has both a rounded, ball-like part at the tip and a regular, thin brush in the middle. However, the ball part is pretty bulky and carries a lot of product. You need to have good control of the brush, otherwise, you’ll apply too much and create messy clumps all over. Also, the brush feels pretty sharp. It didn’t scratch/hurt, but it felt a little harsh whenever it touched my skin. So, be careful you don’t brush hard, as it could potentially irritate or scratch your skin. A bulky tip with lots of product is bearable, and once you get used to the product/brush, it won’t cause too much trouble.

IMG_4742

However, the holding power was very disappointing. The main reason I purchased this product was because I wanted to hold my brow hairs in place. However, even after I brushed through several times, it still did not hold my brow hairs that well (it’s not like I have super thick brow hairs either..). Even on the days it successfully held my brow hairs, it did NOT last long. By lunch time (around 3-4 hours after I applied it), it started to look like I did not even apply brow mascara. It was better than nothing, but still not good enough to be carefree.

FullSizeRender

Also, since it’s just a brow mascara, it only changes the color of your brow hair. Therefore, unless you have perfectly groomed/shaped eyebrows, you still will need a brow pencil to fill in the areas where you don’t have brow hair.

Overall, this wasn’t as great as what I expected. I’ll still use it for days when I go out for only several hours, but otherwise, I’ll probably purchase another brow mascara that actually can hold brow hair well.

One important thing to note is that it’s NOT waterproof! If you rub it under water, it gets removed right away.

 

Holding power: 3 out of 5

Lasting: 3 out of 5

Color: 4 out of 5

Ease of Use: 4 out of 5

Brush (Quality/design): 3.5

Overall: 3.5 out of 5

 

Stay beYOUtiful ♥

Leave a Reply

