Maybelline’s Unstoppable Eyeliner – 701 Onyx (Waterproof Eyeliner)

I’ve been using gel liners for a while because I have pretty oily eyelids, thus, most of the pencil liners that I’ve previously used smudged everywhere after couple hours. But since gel liners are hard to carry around, I decided to try out pencil liners.

IMG_4211

I got the Maybelline’s Unstoppable Eyeliner in 701 Onyx. It’s a black liner with a smudge-proof and waterproof formula. It’s highly pigmented. For you to see the color better, I swatched it once, twice, and also swatched Maybellien’s Volume Express Mascara in Blackest Black. You can see that couple strokes will give you the full Black color.

IMG_4215

The smudge-proof quality was very disappointing. I let the liners dry for about 10 min, then rubbed the area with my fingers (with about the same force that I usually use when I rub my eyes). Even with a little bit of rubbing, it smudged pretty badly. Do you see those dark/black circles from the smudged eyeliner? Also, when it smudged, the product came off a little bit as well. For this part, I wore ONLY the eyeliner (no mascara) to see how much it smudged throughout the day. Also, I did not correct my eye makeup AT ALL. I put the eyeliner on at 11 am, took pictures at 4pm and 11pm. Do you see how much it smudged? At 4pm, it smudged a little, but it wasn’t a crazy amount. But by the end of the day, it smudged pretty badly, and so much product smudged on my under eye area.

IMG_4222-1

To test whether it really is waterproof, I let the liners dry for about 10 min, then put my arm under the faucet. Even with water at higher pressures, it didn’t smudge at all! This waterproofness was very impressive.

IMG_4217You don’t need a sharpener for this liner. You can swirl the inner top part to take out product or put it back. Also this liner is very soft. It glides easily without much pressure, so it didn’t cause me any irritation. The only downside is that since it’s so soft, it breaks easily if you use too much force when drawing lines.

Lastly, I tested how easily it removes, because most waterproof products are very hard to remove. I used “Maybelline – Clean Express Makeup Remover” (I did a review of it earlier: LINK), and with a gentle rubbing motion, all the product came off easily.

Overall, this was an okay product. The waterproofness and removability were very impressive, but since I have pretty oily eyelids, the smudge-proof part was very disappointing, and I won’t use it often. 

 

 

Packaging: 4 out of 5

Ease of Use: 3.5 out of 5

Color Intensity: 4.5 out of 5

Lasting: 4 out of 5

Waterproofness: 5 out of 5

Smudge Resistance: 3 out of 5

Removability: 4.5 out of 5

Overall: 4.1 out of 5

 

Stay beYOUtiful ♥

One thought on “Maybelline’s Unstoppable Eyeliner – 701 Onyx (Waterproof Eyeliner)

  1. JessiCUT says:

    Hello Clara,

    thanks for liking one of my posts! I do not press the like button for this post, because I’m using natural/organic cosmetics only. I’m looking forward to post about the why in the course of this year.

    You could try vegetable oil – like sunflower, sesame or jojoba – for removing (waterproof) eye make-up. First, do wet the cotton-wool swab, then apply the oil.

Leave a Reply

